Generic placeholder image

NOVEMBER PROGRAMS


Monday Nights


Master Builders Lego Club
November 5 @ 6:30 PM


Superhero Mystery Dinner
Pre-registration Required 616.527.3680
November 19 @ 6:00 PM


Book Tasting Party
November 26 @ 6:30 PM



Santa Vists the Library

SANTA VISITS THE LIBRARY!


Monday, December 3 @ 6PM


Visit with Santa and have your picture taken with him.




Battle of the Books

BATTLE OF THE BOOKS

3rd - 5th Grade


Register individually or with a team to Battle now until January 2
Brochures are available at the library or download and print the brochure below.


Battle of the Books Registeration Form »


Preliminary Battle
Monday, February 25 @ 6 PM
Ionia ISD
2191 Harwood Rd



Final Battle
Top 3 Teams from the Preliminary Battle, Battle the top 3 teams from all the Ionia County Libraries!
Thursday, March 14 @ 6 PM
Ionia Theatre
205 W. Main St.

Battle Books


Generic placeholder image

The One and Only Ivan

Katherine Applegate

Inspired by the true story of a captive silverback gorilla known as Ivan, this stirring and unforgettable novel celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Having spent twenty-seven years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes. Hailed as a best book of the year by Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Amazon, Katherine Applegate's novel blends humor and poignancy to create this incredible tale of friendship, art, and hope told from Ivan's own point of view, in the tradition of timeless classics such as Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little.



Generic placeholder image

The Magic Misfits

Nel Patrick Harris
Lissy Marlin


When street magician Carter runs away, he never expects to find friends and magic in a sleepy New England town. But like any good trick, things change instantly as greedy B.B. Bosso and his crew of crooked carnies arrive to steal anything and everything they can get their sticky fingers on. After a fateful encounter with the local purveyor of illusion, Dante Vernon, Carter teams up with five other like-minded illusionists. Together, using both teamwork and magic, they'll set out to save the town of Mineral Wells from Bosso's villainous clutches. These six Magic Misfits will soon discover adventure, friendship, and their own self-worth in this delightful new series. (Psst. Hey, you! Yes, you! Congratulations on reading this far. As a reward, I'll let you in on a little secret... This book isn't just a book. It's a treasure trove of secrets and ciphers and codes and even tricks. Keep your eyes peeled and you'll discover more than just a story--you'll learn how to make your own magic!)


Generic placeholder image

Flora and Ulysses


Kate DiCamillo
K.G. Campbell


It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but self-described cynic Flora Belle Buckman, who has read every issue of the comic book Terrible Things Can Happen to You!, is just the right person to step in and save him. What neither can predict is that Ulysses (the squirrel) has been born anew, with powers of strength, flight, and misspelled poetry — and that Flora will be changed too, as she discovers the possibility of hope and the promise of a capacious heart. From #1 New York Times best-selling author Kate DiCamillo comes a laugh-out-loud story filled with eccentric, endearing characters and featuring an exciting new format — a novel interspersed with comic-style graphic sequences and full-page illustrations, all rendered in black-and-white by up-and-coming artist K. G. Campbell.

Generic placeholder image

The Potato Chip Puzzles:
The Puzzling World of Winston Breen #2


Eric Berlin


When a local potato chip tycoon invites area kids to an all-day puzzle hunt, Winston Breen is psyched. But it turns out the day is not all fun and games. Their teacher is being overly competitive, the puzzles are hard (even for Winston), and someone in the contest is playing dirty in order to win the fifty-thousand-dollar grand prize! Trying to stop the mystery cheater before it’s too late takes an already tough challenge to a whole new level. . . . Perfect for fans of The Westing Game, exciting mysteries, and, of course, puzzles



Generic placeholder image

September 11 ~ November 28

Little Explorers

Ages 3 ~6

Tuesdays @ 10:30AM


Get Wild with Toddler Time

Ages 1 ~3

Wednesdays @ 10:30AM


Generic placeholder image

County-wide Reading Program
Sponsored by the
Ionia County Youth Library Association

Enrolling your family in the 1,000 Books Before Kndergarten program is an excellent way to give your child an extra advantage towards classroom readiness.

This program is availabe due to the generous grant support of Meijer, the Ionia Rotary Club and Homeworks Tri-County Electric. Thanks also to Portland Civic Group, Young Automotive-Ionia, VFW Post 4090 Portland, Carbon Green BioEnergy, Walker's Pharmacy, Lakewood Family Health Care and Spectrum Health Pennock Clarksville Family Medicine for their significant contributions.

More 1,000 Books Program Information »

1,000 Book Registration Form »


Generic placeholder image

FREE
Grand Rapids Children's Museum Pass

The Grand Rapids Children's Museum celebrates childhood and the joy of learning by providing an interactive, hands-on environment that inspires learning and encourages self directed exploration.

View details »